Kintsugi By Death Cab For Cutie- The Rock Album That Deserves A Grammy

The Grammy Awards are just around the corner. So I thought now would be a good time to review one of my favourite albums from last year- Kintsugi by Death Cab For Cutie. This album’s been nominated for the Best Rock Album at this year’s Grammy awards. It has a total of 11 songs, all of which are brilliantly written and beautifully sung by the awesome Ben Gibbard.

Now, why does this album deserve a Grammy award?

Simply because,  Kintsugi’s songs have the most magical blend of music and lyrics, something which is quite hard to find in majority of the popular songs these days. It is a versatile album which can effectively lift your spirits up, make you yearn for a lost love, take you on a trip of nostalgia, or simply make you celebrate love, depending on your state of mind while listening to its songs.

All I had to do was listen to one song (Black Sun) from the album, and I was hooked. My love for Death Cab For Cutie grew with every new song I heard from it. It was definitely one of the few pieces of music which made me want to get my hands on it with the very first listen. And before I knew it, Kintsugi became my go-to music every night, and it remained so for the longest time. No matter how exhilarating, dull, cheerful or sad my day had been, Ben Gibbard’s voice never failed to soothe my troubled and restless mind.

And isn’t that the purpose of music after all? To make you forget the world around you, and take you to a place where you can lose yourself in soulful melodies?

Well, that’s exactly what Kintsugi does for me. I am sure, anyone who appreciates the subtle eccentricity and appeal of Indie rock, will only need to hear Chris Walla’s mesmerising guitar riffs and Ben Gibbard’s mellow tones singing heart-touching words, once, to fall in love with the genius that is Kintsugi.

So if you are an indie rock music fan, who’s not initiated with Kintsugi yet, here are some of my favourite gems from this beautiful album. Check them out!

  1. No Room In Frame

“Was I in your way

When the cameras turned to face you?

No room in frame

For two…”

2. Black Sun

“There is whiskey in the water

And there is death upon the vine

And there is grace within forgiveness

But it’s so hard for me to find…”

3. Ghosts of Beverly Drive

“I don’t know why, I don’t know why

I don’t know what I expect to find

Where all the news is second hand

And everything just goes on as planned…”

4. Little Wanderer

“But if you’ll be my bluebird returning

Then I’ll be your evergreen

Standing tall on your horizon

Guiding you home to me…”

5. Everything’s A Ceiling

“Way way down a hole

There’s no feeling

Cause when you’re so far below the floor

Everything’s a ceiling…”

 

Honorable Mentions-

El Dorado

You’ve Haunted Me All My Life

Good Help (Is So Hard To Find)

Ingenue

P.S.– Kintsugi is also special because this was the last album with all the original band members. Chris Walla has now, sadly left the band 😦

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice..will try and listen to them!

    Like

    1. Yes! Please do..I am sure you’ll like it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

